跳到主要内容
版本:5.0

主题(Topic)

本文介绍 Apache RocketMQ 中主题(Topic)的定义、模型关系、内部属性、行为约束、版本兼容性及使用建议。

定义

主题是 Apache RocketMQ 中消息传输和存储的顶层容器,用于标识同一类业务逻辑的消息。 主题的作用主要如下:

  • 定义数据的分类隔离: 在 Apache RocketMQ 的方案设计中,建议将不同业务类型的数据拆分到不同的主题中管理,通过主题实现存储的隔离性和订阅隔离性。

  • 定义数据的身份和权限: Apache RocketMQ 的消息本身是匿名无身份的,同一分类的消息使用相同的主题来做身份识别和权限管理。

模型关系

在整个 Apache RocketMQ 的领域模型中,主题所处的流程和位置如下:

主题

主题是 Apache RocketMQ 的顶层存储,所有消息资源的定义都在主题内部完成,但主题是一个逻辑概念,并不是实际的消息容器。

主题内部由多个队列组成,消息的存储和水平扩展能力最终是由队列实现的;并且针对主题的所有约束和属性设置,最终也是通过主题内部的队列来实现。

内部属性

主题名称

  • 定义:主题的名称,用于标识主题,主题名称集群内全局唯一。

  • 取值:由用户创建主题时定义。

  • 约束:请参见参数限制

队列列表

  • 定义:队列作为主题的组成单元,是消息存储的实际容器,一个主题内包含一个或多个队列,消息实际存储在主题的各队列内。更多信息,请参见队列(MessageQueue)

  • 取值:系统根据队列数量给主题分配队列,队列数量创建主题时定义。

  • 约束:一个主题内至少包含一个队列。

消息类型

  • 定义:主题所支持的消息类型。

  • 取值:创建主题时选择消息类型。Apache RocketMQ 支持的主题类型如下:

    • Normal:普通消息,消息本身无特殊语义,消息之间也没有任何关联。

    • FIFO:顺序消息,Apache RocketMQ 通过消息分组MessageGroup标记一组特定消息的先后顺序,可以保证消息的投递顺序严格按照消息发送时的顺序。

    • Delay:定时/延时消息,通过指定延时时间控制消息生产后不要立即投递,而是在延时间隔后才对消费者可见。

    • Transaction:事务消息,Apache RocketMQ 支持分布式事务消息,支持应用数据库更新和消息调用的事务一致性保障。

  • 约束:每个主题只支持一种消息类型。

行为约束

消息类型强制校验

Apache RocketMQ 5.x版本将消息类型拆分到主题中进行独立运维和处理,因此系统会对发送的消息类型和主题定的消息类型进行强制校验,若校验不通过,则消息发送请求会被拒绝,并返回类型不匹配异常。校验原则如下:

  • 消息类型必须一致发送的消息的类型,必须和目标主题定义的消息类型一致。

  • 主题类型必须单一每个主题只支持一种消息类型,不允许将多种类型的消息发送到同一个主题中。

常见错误使用场景

  • 发送的消息类型不匹配例如,创建主题时消息类型定义为顺序消息,发送消息时发送事务消息到该主题中,此时消息发送请求会被拒绝,并返回类型不匹配异常。

  • 单一消息主题混用例如,创建主题时消息类型定义为普通消息,发送消息时同时发送普通消息和顺序消息到该主题中,则顺序消息的发送请求会被拒绝,并返回类型不匹配异常。

版本兼容性

消息类型的强制校验,仅针对 Apache RocketMQ 服务端5.x版本生效。 Apache RocketMQ 服务端4.x和3.x历史版本的SDK不支持强制校验,您需要自己保证消息类型一致。 如果您使用的服务端版本为历史版本,建议您升级到 Apache RocketMQ 服务端5.x版本。

使用建议

按照业务分类合理拆分主题

Apache RocketMQ 的主题拆分设计应遵循大类统一原则,即将相同业务域内同一功能属性的消息划分为同一主题。拆分主题时,您可以从以下角度考虑拆分粒度:

  • 消息类型是否一致:不同类型的消息,如顺序消息和普通消息需要使用不同的主题。

  • 消息业务是否关联:如果业务没有直接关联,比如,淘宝交易消息和盒马物流消息没有业务交集,需要使用不同的消息主题;同样是淘宝交易消息,女装类订单和男装类订单可以使用同一个订单。当然,如果业务量较大或其他子模块应用处理业务时需要进一步拆分订单类型,您也可以将男装订单和女装订单的消息拆分到两个主题中。

  • 消息量级是否一样:数量级不同或时效性不同的业务消息建议使用不同的主题,例如某些业务消息量很小但是时效性要求很强,如果跟某些万亿级消息量的业务使用同一个主题,会增加消息的等待时长。

正确拆分示例: 线上商品购买场景下,订单交易如订单创建、支付、取消等流程消息使用一个主题,物流相关消息使用一个主题,积分管理相关消息使用一个主题。

错误拆分示例:

  • 拆分粒度过粗:会导致业务隔离性差,不利于独立运维和故障处理。例如,所有交易消息和物流消息都共用一个主题。

  • 拆分粒度过细:会消耗大量主题资源,造成系统负载过重。例如,按照用户ID区分,每个用户ID使用一个主题。

单一主题只收发一种类型消息,避免混用

Apache RocketMQ 主题的设计原则为通过主题隔离业务,不同业务逻辑的消息建议使用不同的主题。同一业务逻辑消息的类型都相同,因此,对于指定主题,应该只收发同一种类型的消息。

主题管理尽量避免自动化机制

在 Apache RocketMQ 架构中,主题属于顶层资源和容器,拥有独立的权限管理、可观测性指标采集和监控等能力,创建和管理主题会占用一定的系统资源。因此,生产环境需要严格管理主题资源,请勿随意进行增、删、改、查操作。

Apache RocketMQ 虽然提供了自动创建主题的功能,但是建议仅在测试环境使用,生产环境请勿打开,避免产生大量垃圾主题,无法管理和回收并浪费系统资源。

Skip to main content
Version: 5.0

Topic

This section describes the definition, model relationship, internal attributes, and behavior constraints of topics in Apache RocketMQ. This topic also provides version compatibility information and usage notes for topics.

Definition

A topic is logically a collection of queues; we may publish messages to or receive from it.

Topics provide the following benefits:

  • Message categorization and message isolation: When you create a messaging service based on Apache RocketMQ, we recommend that you use different topics to manage messages of different business types for isolated storage and subscription.
  • Identity and permission management: Messages in Apache RocketMQ are anonymous. You can use a topic to perform identity and permission management for messages of a specific category.

Model relationship

The following figure shows the position of a topic in the domain model of Apache RocketMQ. Topic

In Apache RocketMQ, a topic is a top-level storage container in which all message resources are defined. A topic is a logical concept and not the actual unit that stores messages.

A topic contains one or more queues. Message storage and scalability are implemented based on queues. All constraints and attribute settings for a topic are implemented based on the queues in the topic.

Internal attributes

Topic name

  • Definition: the name of a topic. A topic name identifies the topic and is globally unique in a cluster.

  • Value: A topic name is specified by the user when a topic is created.

  • Constraint: See Parameter limits.

Queues

  • Definition: the actual storage unit that stores messages. A topic contains one or more queues. For more information, see Message queues.

  • Value: You can specify the number of queues when you create a topic. Apache RocketMQ allocates the specified number of queues to the topic.

  • Constraint: A topic must contain at least one queue.

Message type

  • Definition: the message type that is specified for a topic.

  • Value: When you create a topic in Apache RocketMQ, select one of the following message types for the topic:

    • Normal: Normal messages. A normal message does not require special semantics and is not correlated with other normal messages.

    • FIFO: Fifo messages. Apache RocketMQ uses a message group to determine the order of a specified set of messages. The messages are delivered in the order in which they are sent.

    • Delay: Delayed messages. You can specify a delay to make messages available to consumers only after the delay has elapsed, instead of delivering messages immediately when they are produced.

    • Transaction: Transaction messages. Apache RocketMQ supports distributed transaction messages and ensures transaction consistency of database updates and message calls.

  • Constraint: A topic supports only one message type.

Behavior constraints

Forced message type verification

Apache RocketMQ version 5.x allows you to specify a message type for a topic. This way, you can manage and process messages of the specified type in a separate topic. Apache RocketMQ forcibly verifies the type of messages that are sent and the message type of the topic to which the messages are sent. If message type verification fails, message delivery requests are rejected, and a type mismatch error is returned. The following verification rules apply:

  • Consistent message typesThe messages that you want to send must use the same message type as the message type that is specified for the topic to which you want to send the messages.

  • Only one type of messages sent to a topicThe messages that you want to send to a topic must use the same message type. Only one message type can be specified for a topic.

Examples of common usage errors

  • Send messages that do not match the message type of a topicFor example, a request that is initiated to send Transaction messages to a topic that uses the FIFO message type is rejected, and a type mismatch error is returned.

  • Send messages of different types to a topicFor example, a request that is initiated to send normal messages and fifo messages to a topic that uses the Normal message type is rejected, and a type mismatch error is returned.

Version compatibility

Forced message type verification is available only in Apache RocketMQ version 5.x. The SDKs of Apache RocketMQ versions 4.x and 3.x do not support forced message type verification. If you use version 4.x or 3.x, make sure that message types are consistent.

We recommend that you use Apache RocketMQ version 5.x.

Usage notes

Plan topics based on your business requirements

We recommend that you use a topic to process messages that are produced for the same business module of a business aspect when you plan topics in Apache RocketMQ. Take note of the following factors when you plan topics:

  • Message types: Use different topics to store messages of different types. For example, you can create two topics to separately store fifo messages and normal messages.

  • Message correlation: Use separate topics to store messages that are not directly correlated. For example, create two topics for Taobao transaction messages and Freshippo logistics messages, which are not correlated. If the messages are directly correlated, you can use the same topic. For example, you can create one topic for order messages that are produced for the men's clothing category and women's clothing category on Taobao. If the business volume or submodules require more fine-grained topics, you can also use different topics for messages that can be classified into one topic.

  • Message volume and timeliness: Use different topics to process messages that have differences in volume or timeliness. For example, do not use the same topic for one business that generates a small number of time-sensitive messages and another business that generates trillions of messages. This prevents time-sensitive messages from waiting too long for consumption.

Example of correct topic planning: In e-commerce scenarios, you can use a topic for order-related messages, such as order creation, payment, and canceling, a topic for logistics messages, and another topic for reward point-related messages.

Examples of incorrect topic planning:

  • Excessively coarse granularity: causes poor isolation. This does not facilitate independent O\&M and fault handling. An example of this incorrect topic planning practice is to use the same topic for all transaction messages and logistics messages.

  • Excessively fine granularity: consumes a large number of topic resources and increases the system load. An example of this incorrect topic planning practice is to use a separate topic for messages that are produced for each user.

Use a topic to send and receive messages of the same type

Topic-based business isolation is a design principle of Apache RocketMQ. We recommend that you use different topics for messages that use different business logic. A specific topic must send or receive the same type of messages.

Avoid automated management of topics

Topics in Apache RocketMQ are top-level resources and containers that provide separate permission management, observability metrics collection, and monitoring capabilities. System resources are required to create and manage topics. We recommend that you add, delete, modify, or query topics in a production environment only when the operation is required.

Although Apache RocketMQ provides automatic topic creation, we recommend that you use the feature only in a test environment. If you use the feature in a production environment, a large number of unnecessary topics may be generated. This hinders topic management and consumes additional system resources.